Local Government history

In 1861, the householders and landowners in the Parish of Doutta Galla petitioned the Governor of Victoria to allow their local area to become a municipal district.

In December of that year the Governor granted the petitioners their wish and the boroughs of Essendon and Flemington were incorporated. The first Council meeting of the newly formed municipality took place at the Moonee Ponds Hotel on Saturday, 25 January 1862.

The City of Moonee Valley, as we know it today, formed in 1994 after the merger of the City of Keilor with the City of Essendon.

In early 2012, we celebrated 150 years of local government in the area.

Former Moonee Valley Mayors

Year  Mayor 
1997-98  Cr Eugene Hammer
1998-99  Cr Hedley Moffat
1999-2000 Cr Don Cornish 
2000-01 Cr Trevor Sinclair 
2001-02  Cr Don Cornish 
2002-03 Cr Eugene Hammer
2003-04 Cr Mark Kennedy
2004-05 Cr Lydia Kauzlaric
2005-06 Cr Jan Chantry
2006-07 Cr Ben Opie
2007-09 Cr Paul Giuliano
2009-10 Cr Shirley Cornish
2010-11 Cr John Sipek
2011-12 Cr Jim Cusack
2012-13 Cr Narelle Sharpe
2013-14 Cr Jan Chantry
2014-15 Cr Narelle Sharpe 
2015-16 Cr Andrea Surace 
Last updated: Monday, 29 August 2016, 6:34 AM