What you need to know


Councillors are voted in by residents every four years, to represent the community and make decisions regarding a large range of issues. Moonee Valley is made up of three wards - Rose Hill, Buckley and Myrnong, and each ward is represented by three Councillors.

Role of Councillors

The Local Government Act 2020 tells us that a Councillor's primary role is to work with Council to provide good governance for the benefit and well-being of our whole community.

In representing their local communities, the Act states Councillors must ensure that:

  • Council decisions are to be made and actions taken in accordance with the relevant law;
  • priority is to be given to achieving the best outcomes for the municipal community, including future generations;
  • the economic, social and environmental sustainability of the municipal district, including mitigation and planning for climate change risks, is to be promoted;
  • the municipal community is to be engaged in strategic planning and strategic decision making;
  • innovation and continuous improvement is to be pursued;
  • collaboration with other Councils and Governments and statutory bodies is to be sought;
  • the ongoing financial viability of the Council is to be ensured;
  • regional, state and national plans and policies are to be taken into account in strategic planning and decision making;
  • the transparency of Council decisions, actions and information is to be ensured.

Each November, Council also elects the Mayor and Deputy Mayor to lead the team for the year ahead.

For more information about the role of Councillors, visit the Know Your Council website.

Rose Hill Ward

  • Airport West
  • Avondale Heights
  • Keilor East
  • Niddrie
  • most of Essendon West
  • part of Strathmore Heights

Myrnong Ward

  • Ascot Vale
  • Flemington
  • Travancore
  • most of Moonee Ponds
  • part of Essendon

Buckley Ward

  • Aberfeldie
  • Essendon Fields
  • Essendon North
  • Strathmore
  • most of Essendon and Strathmore Heights
  • parts of Moonee Ponds and Essendon West

Mayoral Position

Councillors elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor. They may choose to elect the Mayor for a one or two year term, during the four year Council term. The current Mayor is Cr Cam Nation and the Deputy Mayor is Cr Katrina Hodgson; they were elected for a one-year term in October, 2020.

Here is a list of previous Mayors:

Year Mayor
1997-98 Cr Eugene Hammer
1998-99 Cr Hedley Moffat
1999-00 Cr Don Cornish
2000-01 Cr Trevor Sinclair
2001-02 Cr Don Cornish
2002-03 Cr Eugene Hammer
2003-04 Cr Mark Kennedy
2004-05 Cr Lydia Kauzlaric
2005-06 Cr Jan Chantry
2006-07 Cr Ben Opie
2007-08 Cr Paul Giuliano
2008-09 Cr Paul Giuliano
2009-10 Cr Shirley Cornish
2010-11 Cr John Sipek
2011-12 Cr Jim Cusack
2012-13 Cr Narelle Sharpe
2013-14 Cr Jan Chantry
2014-15 Cr Narelle Sharpe
2015-16 Cr Andrea Surace
2016-17 Cr Andrea Surace
2017-18 Cr John Sipek
2018-19 Cr Narelle Sharpe
2019-20 Cr Samantha Byrne
2020-21 Cr Cam Nation


Code of Conduct

Councillors are governed by a Code Of Conduct to maintain the highest standards of conduct and behaviour.

Councillor Gift Policy

The purpose of this policy is to provide guidance to councillors on the types of gifts, benefits and hospitality that can be accepted or those that must be declined.

Councillor expenses

In accordance with the Local Government Act 2020, Councillors are entitled to be reimbursed in relation to expenses incurred in their capacity as a Councillor.

Council has adopted the Councillor Expenses Policy and Procedure which provides a broad overview of how Council provides assistance and support to the Mayor and Councillors in carrying out their role and official duties.

To ensure greater transparency, we publish the reimbursement of Councillor expenses here on this page on a quarterly basis. The figures included in these reports may include expenses not incurred in the reporting period but processed by the administration in the reporting period.

Donations and Grants register

The Donations and Grants Register contains information about who Council donated to and grants awarded by Council including the amount of each donation and grant.

Political Party Membership

This Register contains details of political party memberships held by Councillors. The register includes both past and present memberships.

Councillor Current Membership Previous Membership
Cr Cam Nation Liberal Party of Australia
Cr Ava Adams
Cr Narelle Sharpe
Cr Katrina Hodgson Australian Labor Party, since Nov 2010
Cr Jacob Bettio
Cr Rose Iser Australian Labor Party, Sep 2014 – May 2015
Greens, Apr 2006 – May 2013
Cr Samantha Byrne
Cr John Sipek Australian Labor Party, 2005-2016
Cr Pierce Tyson Australian Labor Party, since Jul 2013

Councillor representatives to external bodies and other committees

  • Audit and Risk Committee – Cr Adams, Cr Bettio and Cr Byrne;
  • Essendon Airport/Essendon Fields Council Working Group – Cr Adams, Cr Nation, Cr Sharpe and Cr Tyson;
  • Essendon Fields Airport (Community Aviation Consultation Group – CACG) – Cr Sharpe;
  • Farnham Street Neighbourhood Learning Centre Committee of Management – Cr Iser and Cr Hodgson;
  • Municipal Association of Victoria – Cr Iser (representative) and Cr Nation (substitute representative);
  • Metropolitan Local Government Waste Forum – Cr Hodgson and a relevant Council Officer;
  • Metropolitan Transport Forum – Cr Tyson and a relevant Council Officer;
  • Western Melbourne Tourism Board – Cr Adams and a relevant Council Officer;
  • Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria Consultative Group – Cr Hodgson and Cr Bettio.